Blackrapid RS DR-1 Double Strap Review

Intro

A while back i reviewed the Phottix Velo camera straps. In general they weren’t 100% reliable due to very poor quality metal parts, some of which i have to modify to make them usable. The crew at Blackrapid sent me a set of RS DR-1 Double Straps …..

RS DR-1 Test

Like the “Phottix Velo Quick Strap for two cameras” the “Blackrapid RS DR-1 Double Strap” is a designed for use with 2 cameras. They have a list price of about €130.00 and as far as I know there isn’t a lot of variation in the price.
rsdr1-02They are very comfortable and easy to adjust (as you would expect). The biggest differences between the 2 systems are the carabiner and the way the camera is attached to the  carabiner. The blackrapid system uses high strength steel that feels strong and secure.
brconnectr2To put them to the test I used my 2 heaviest set ups. On the right hand side I had.

* Sony Alpha 900 with Vertical grip and 2 batteries

*Tokina 80-200mm 2.8 ATX-PRO (very heavy old lens)

*Minolta 5600HSD  with external battery pack

and on the left side

*Sony Alpha 700 with Vertical grip and 2 batteries

*Zeiss 24-70mm 2.8 SSM

*Sony HVL F42AM

I then ran up and down 2 flights of steeps (hoping that my camera insurance was paid up), but nothing fell off. Then i put the blackrapid  to a real test. I attached the carabiner to my work bench and pulled on the straps as hard as I could. I’m not a small guy so the stress I was putting the straps through was a lot more then they would be expected to withstand. I am please to say that they passed with flying colours, if they can withstand  the “Scott stress test” then a few kgs of camera is no problem.

Final conclusion

A comfortable, easy to use, stable, system that fells like it was designed constant use. I would like to see a base plate that is easier to use with a vertical grip but that is only a miner point. Blackrapid have a product that is superior to the Phottis Velo system simply because you can trust it not to fall apart.

About shotbyscott

Just another photography blog.. I also like all kinds of accessories
This entry was posted in pimp my camera and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackrapid RS DR-1 Double Strap Review

  1. Julie says:

    Great design…and perfect for the two camera job!

Leave a Reply

