Sony Zeiss 24-70mm 2.8 (SAL24-70z)

I have been using “Standard Zooms” for a long time and have had a several  different ones over the years. About 7 years ago my Sigma 28-70 2.8 fell 20cm and died. I replaced it with the best Lens I could find at the time, a Konica Minolta 28-75mm 2.8 ( a re-badged Tamron lens). I have been so happy with the KM 28-75 for so long and never really though up upgrading it….. Until at the opening of the lightGIANTS studio. “Cher Ping” came to the opening with a bucket full of Zeiss lenses. After using his Zeiss ZA Vario-Sonnar T* 24-70mm f/2.8 SSM (Sony SAL-2470Z) I knew I had to have one.

kit

Specifications

Optical construction 17 elements in 13 groups inc. 2x aspherical and 2x ED elements
Number of aperture blades 9 (rounded)
min. focus distance 0.34m (max. magnification ratio 1:4)
Dimensions 83x111mm
Weight 955g
Filter size 77mm (non-rotating)
Hood petal-shaped (metal), snap-on, supplied

Why I had to have it…

Although I use my KM 28-75 2.8 for most of my photography there are moment when 28mm just isn’t wide enough. And the KM 28-75mm isn’t that nice around the edges (of a full frame camera) at 28mm, when using f2.8-3.5. The last factor and the real crunch factor for me is the Auto focus speed. SSM (SuperSonic AF Motor) Is just so much faster and quieter than the traditional screw mount AF system. As I shoot a lot of weddings its a very important factor for me.

lens

Impressions

Regarding its weight of nearly 1kg the Zeiss ZA 24-70mm f/2.8 feels like a massive block of glass encased in metal. Unlike the Zeiss 85mm 1.4 the lens hood isn’t metal, but the quality is good and you dont have to buy it as an accessory (like many Canon lenses :)). The zoom ring is a bit stiff, probably a side-effect of the heavy weight of the glass and metal. The handling of the focus ring is smoother.

About shotbyscott

Just another photography blog.. I also like all kinds of accessories
This entry was posted in Glass, to Zeiss or not to Zeiss? ... is that a question and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

